Posted by: merlyn9 | 8 May, 2009

Return to Yellowstone!

Three Weeks…

 

That’s all I have left before I depart on my road trip out to Yellowstone for Spring.  Our 1st ever visit during Spring.   I Loved our Adventures during February and the Winter Wonderland Workshop we attended with all that beautiful SNOW, and I especially always love being there during Rut Season in the fall.  So we are looking forward to the place coming back to life from it’s winter hiatus… and as Diane says, “All the Babies!”

grand_tetons_pano002a_1880

Grand Tetons Panoramic in the Fall

CRW_35806Framed_800

Big Blow!

This should be an extra special trip as well, since we will be taking a Yellowstone Virgin with us this trip… Scott Gillis will be joining us for these adventures!  I’ll be driving out with all the hiking and camera gear and picking them up at the Idaho Falls Airport.  Grand Tetons in the morning, but since they are getting in somewhere around 22:30 or 23:30 on Thursday, I don’t think we will be making it out for Sunrise though.  Sunrise is scheduled for 05:46.  Somehow I just don’t see any of us getting up early enough to make it to the Tetons for that Sunrise…  Maybe I can sneak out alone & go back and get them for Lunch?  

Since I’m driving out there, we are going to be taking some extra lights and try our hand at something we 1st participated in during the Winter Wonderland Workshop we were part of back in February.  Light Painting was a cool endevour during that workshop, so we are going to give it another try on our own one night during this trip.  So I’ll have a couple of Bright lights in the SUV someplace too…

I know thee the of us are looking forward to seeing lots of wildlife as things come out of their winter rests throughout the park.  Baby Elk, Baby Bison, Bear Cubs, and so much more are on the wish list!  I know there is a large group of American White Pelicans that seem to migrate through in May/June at Yellowstone Lake.  I am hoping we can catch these as well.  

RT6Y7774Framed01_800

Bison in the Road as the Sun Sets in Yellowstone

We will certainly keep you up to date as to our adventures.  We are staying IN the park again this trip… so we will have No Internet connectivity again, but we will be logging better notes… time permitting.  I’ve gotten more time to become more familiar with my Canon EOS 5D MKII.  Anyone want to rent me the 800mm Prime Lens for this trip???

 


 _

 

 

 

All Images Copyrighted © 2009 michael T. sedwick
_______________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________

Responses

  1. I loved both your Bison in the road photo and your Grand Tetons photos. I was at both places last year and I found the Tetons hard to capture (with atmospheric fog or mist blocking the view) Great work.
    —-Mitch Grosky (http://thisweekwithmitchgrosky.wordpress.com and http://mrgrosky.wordpress.com)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

