Posted by: merlyn9 | 12 July, 2008

Off to NASCAR at Chicagoland Speedway

Back in February my friends and I bought tickets for the First Night Cup race at Chicagoland Speedway in Joliet, Illinois.  This week my eldest son calls me up at 1 AM in the morning from his best friends house and asks me: “What are you doing this Saturday?”  Turns out his friend father had just been given a Free pair of tickets complete with DuPont Hospitality Suite package for this race.  Dang-it!  While he likes racing… He’s not exactly a top NASCAR fan… So as you can tell I’m not thinking this is exactly fair!

Well Matthew is going to take advantage of this opportunity and enjoy the Hospitality Suite, and Pit Pass, etc.  Wanted to know what I wanted him to ask Jeff Gordon for me… (Better check his DNA & make sure he’s mine!)  We’ll see if I shoot his car (Matthew’s) at the next Autocross event Next weekend!

The Canon 1D MKIIn will be going with me… The speed of this camera will come in very handy.  I’ll have both the 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS and the 100-400mm f/4.5 L IS with.  Plenty of CF cards and extra batteries.  Rain should be cleared out by race time, but I’ll be ready for that too.  Maybe we’ll see the #38 M&M’s car flip out on the last lap across the finish line like we did at Talladega…  Oddly we called and checked on camera gear specifically Lens sizes.  They told us they didn’t have one.  I joked we should take the 500mm and try getting that in!   he he he

 Look for an update and photo’s here in the next day or two, We (those of us that paid for our tickets…) have pretty good seats just past the Start/Finish with a good view into the pits and the pit exit.  Under the bright lights, I’m thinking we’ll still be able to shoot at ISO 400 and hold some strong action and light.  Should be a Great time.   “Green, Green, Green…. Go Go Go!”

Responses

  1. Maybe my Canon HD Camcorder will see you in action.

    I just picked up an HG10 for web video starting in ’08.

    Have a great time and – be safe

    – S

  2. I like it, maybe we should talk to Matthew about seeing if future NASCAR tickets can be had – hosp., etc.

    Can’t wait for the pictures of the butthead stuck in the infield – ha ha ha


Leave a Reply

Categories

