Posted by: merlyn9 | 16 December, 2008

“Missed it by That Much”!   [Canon EOS 5D MKII]

Darn-it!

 
I started to get the shakes & Tingly  all over when the phone rang late this afternoon and the Caller ID said “Calumet”.

The only reason they have to be calling me right now would be related to the Canon EOS 5D MKII I have on order…

As I answered the call, it was the voice of my favorite customer rep Wendy on the other end.  She asked me How bad and quickly I wanted my 5D MKII…   The tingling increased!

Turns out most of the orders they have at my local Calumet Photographic store are for Bodies.  They just got some 5D MKII Kit’s in…  I thought Canon’s Choice of the Kit lens for this body was most intriguing.  The Kit’s include the 5D MKII body and the EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens.  for $3,499.99  Vs. the $2,699.99 for the body only.

Calumet SiteCanon EOS 5D Mark II with 24-105mm Lens

As much as I would like this lens, (I’ve looked at this before) and it fits with some of the work I do…  I can’t really justify getting it right now.   Clearly Not in the Budget.   Heck, I didn’t have it on the list for 2009, unless by some miracle the Economy snaps back overnight in January.

Even Santa can’t help me out of this.

We are in the middle of a major SNOW Storm here, and Wendy knew from my travel experiences that were I interested in the Kit, I would be out there Lickity Split!  No matter What the Weather.  Wendy Knows how much I really want to have this camera Before we head out to Yellowstone N.P. for the Winter Photography Workshop we are attending. 

Unfortunately, there is just No way I can do this I told her… 
I’ve saved cash for this camera body, and I’m not putting any thing on credit…

So back on the waiting delivery list I go…
So Close… So darn Close!

 

_____________________________________________________________________________

Responses

  1. Congrats on not breaking out the plastic for the upgrade. I’m not sure I’d have your iron will in the same situation 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

